Travel

An introduction to Malaysia

11882908_10100392964006622_2518453217584872064_o (800x534)
Kuala Lumpur

I have a soft spot for Malaysia because it was the first country I visited entirely by myself. I didn’t join a tour group or meet any friends at any point (although I made lots of new ones along the way!) – it was just me, myself and I.

If you’re going travelling by yourself and aren’t sure where to begin, Malaysia is a great place to start. It reminds me of Thailand, in terms of being such a backpacker-friendly country, although it very much has its own identity. You can travel around cheaply, with food and accommodation also very affordable. It’s easy to find your way around, and bus transport between cities is very good.

11953503_10100392964819992_6795986390173767081_o (800x533)
Street art in Penang

One of the best things about Malaysia is the sheer variety – each place I visited was completely different from the last. There is an endless list of things to see and do, from Kuala Lumpur’s impressive twin towers to Penang’s street art, the architecture in Melaka, or the jungles of Sabah.

If you’re feeling active you can hike Mount Kinabalu, go scuba diving off the Perhentian Islands, climb the many, many stairs leading to the Batu Caves, or hike the vibrant green tea plantations in the Cameron Highlands.

DSC02374 (800x533)
Tea plantations in the Cameron Highlands

I think my favourite thing about Malaysia is the food. Although, food is usually my favourite thing everywhere! The Malaysian population is made up of mainly Indian, Chinese and Malay people, and this is reflected in the cuisine which has all of these different influences. If you love Indian and Chinese food, you will love it here. I probably ate more street food in Malaysia than anywhere else.

Another very special aspect of Malaysia is its population of Orangutans, which is sadly critically endangered. These beautiful and intelligent animals are native only to the rain forests of Malaysia and Indonesia. Malaysia is divided between the peninsula south of Thailand and the island of Borneo, which is where you’ll find the Orangutans. A trip to Malaysia would not be complete without seeing them in their natural habitat. They’re incredible.

DSC02421 (800x533)
Orangutan sanctuary in Sabah

I’ll be blogging about my travels in Malaysia over the next few weeks so keep checking back for new posts. I hope you enjoyed this post! If you’d like to share on Pinterest, feel free to use the picture below. xx

MENEROKA (3)

2 thoughts on “An introduction to Malaysia

Leave a Reply

