Travel

In love with Vietnamese coffee

vietnamese-coffee-282930_1920 (2) (800x535)
Vietnamese coffee. Picture: Stock image

I’ve hinted at my love for Vietnamese coffee in a few of my recent posts about Vietnam, which you can find here, but seeing as I became such a huge fan of this delicious drink during my time in Vietnam I thought it deserved a post of its own.

If, like me, you love iced coffee in general then you’ll be spoilt for choice in South-East Asia. Iced coffee is available pretty much everywhere, which makes sense with all the lovely warm weather. But there’s something a little different about Vietnamese iced coffee that makes it stand out from the crowd. Personally, I think it’s the tastiest coffee I’ve ever had.

vietnamese-iced-coffee-692896_1920 (2) (800x535)
Vietnamese coffee with metal filter, condensed milk and ice. Picture: Stock image

What is Vietnamese coffee?

Vietnamese coffee, or cà phê đá, is made using ground, dark-roast, Vietnamese-grown coffee, which is placed in a small, metal drip filter on top of a cup. After hot water is added, the filter slowly releases drops of coffee into the cup.

How to drink Vietnamese coffee

You can drink Vietnamese coffee hot or cold, but a popular way to serve it (and my favourite!) is to mix with condensed milk and pour over ice. I believe this tradition dates back to the 1800s when coffee was first introduced to Vietnam and it was difficult to keep regular milk fresh.

I usually drink coffee with regular milk and no sugar so I’d never thought about mixing it with condensed milk before. Some people might be put off by the idea, but Vietnamese coffee is so strong that the sweetness of the milk creates a nice balance of flavours. You should definitely give it a try, even if you don’t have a ‘sweet tooth’.

Ho Chi Minh City 13JPG
My first cup of Vietnamese coffee at a cafe in Ho Chi Minh City

Types of Vietnamese coffee

There are lots of other variations of Vietnamese coffee, which include serving it with yoghurt or eggs instead of condensed milk. I didn’t try either of these, but I did try one cup made with coconut cream – beautiful!

Cafe culture

I’ve mentioned in some of my previous posts that Vietnam has a great cafe culture, particularly in bigger cities such as Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City. The slow-drip method of Vietnamese coffee is an important part of this because it forces you to slow down, relax and take your time.

Have you tried Vietnamese coffee? What’s your favourite way to drink it? I hope you enjoyed this post. If you’d like to share on Pinterest, feel free to use the picture below. xx

Why I loveVietnamese Coffee (2)

5 thoughts on “In love with Vietnamese coffee

  1. I’ve only had Vietnamese coffee from the Vietnamese restaurants and cafes in Los Angeles. I wonder how they compare to the coffee in Vietnam. Guess I will have to go there to figure it out. YUM.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

