Travel

Gallery: Hoi An, Vietnam

I love it when you turn up in a place that you know very little about and are pleasantly surprised to find out that it’s one of the most beautiful places you’ve ever been. Hoi An was one of these happy discoveries for me. I arrived here after an overnight train journey from Nha Trang and instantly fell in love.

Hoi An is a small city, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site, but it feels more like a quaint, small town. There is very little traffic, which makes is pretty unique compared to other cities in Vietnam. It is a quiet and peaceful place to explore with lots of pretty streets full of shops and cafes. It’s a great place to rent a bike and cycle along the river or around the wider countryside.

Then there are the lanterns. Hoi An is known for being decorated with endless paper lanterns. It is quite spectacular to walk around at night with hundreds of brightly coloured lanterns lighting your way. I was travelling with only a backpack so I was limited in how much I could buy, but if I ever go back I will stock up on as many pretty lanterns as I can!

Hoi An was one of my favourite places in Vietnam, and possibly in all of South-East Asia, and it’s high on my list of places I’m desperate to return to for a second visit. While I love the big, buzzing cities of Ha Noi and Ho Chi Minh City, it’s nice to balance them with somewhere calm and tranquil like Hoi An.

Hoi An (800x600)
One of many bridges in Hoi An
Hoi An (2) (800x600)
By the river
Hoi An (3) 1 (800x600)
Pink lotus decorations on the river
Hoi An (6) (800x600)
By the river
Hoi An (8) (800x600)
Lanterns
Hoi An (12) (800x800)
Lotus decorations lit up at night
Hoi An (17) (800x600)
Exploring the countryside by bike
Hoi An (19) (649x800)
Hitching a ride on a water buffalo
vietnam-2135759_1920 (2) (800x533)
I went for a boat ride in a traditional Vietnamese basket boat similar to the ones pictured here. ย Picture: Stock image
Hoi An (21) (800x600)
The guide who steered our basket boat made us souvenirs out of reeds
Hoi An (24) (800x600)
Sunset on the river
Hue (34) (800x600)
The view on my bus ride from Hoi An to Hue
Hue (35) (600x800)
A Vietnam War bunker on the road to Hue
Hue (36) (600x800)
Another bunker on the road to Hue
Hue (800x600)
We stopped to check out this beautiful view point on the bus ride from Hoi An to Hue
9 thoughts on “Gallery: Hoi An, Vietnam

Leave a Reply

