Travel

Gallery: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

When I look back at the thousands of pictures I took during my travels, I always seem to be lacking in a good selection of pictures when I’ve visited a big, buzzing city. I think this is just because I’m too busy wandering around, wide-eyed and taking it all in. Ho Chi Minh City is a good example of this – it’s one of the biggest and most buzzing cities in the world.

Like any big city, there is so much to see and do. I visited some sights related to the Vietnam War – the War Remnants Museum and the Cu Chi Tunnels – because I was really keen to learn about the war and Vietnam’s history in general. There were some very sobering sights at the museum and I realised how complicated the history of the Vietnam War is. I would highly recommend the Cu Chi tunnels, although maybe don’t crawl through them yourself if you’re claustrophobic!

I also spent a lot of time indulging in Vietnamese food and enjoying the café culture. Ho Chi Minh City has a really vibrant café scene. If you take a quick look through Trip Advisor you’ll see what I mean – there are endless gorgeous cafes to relax in and escape from the heat.

rsz_ho_chi_minh_city_2
Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City 3JPG
Display at the War Remnants Museum
Ho Chi Minh City 4JPG
Display at the War Remnants Museum
Ho Chi Minh City 5JPG
Climbing into one of the Cu Chi tunnels
Ho Chi Minh City 7JPG
An entrance to the Cu Chi tunnels
Ho Chi Minh City 9JPG
Display of traps at the Cu Chi tunnels
Ho Chi Minh City 10JPG
Pancake-making demonstration – I saw a lot of these in Vietnam!
Ho Chi Minh City 11JPG
Walking through the woods where the Cu Chi tunnels are located
Ho Chi Minh City 13JPG
Vietnamese coffee with condensed milk
Ho Chi Minh City 14JPG
I always enjoyed it served over ice because it was so hot

I hope you enjoyed these pictures. Have you visited Ho Chi Minh City? What were your favourite things to do?

6 thoughts on “Gallery: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

  1. Its incredible to think how people squeezed into these tunnels. But then we also realized that people had been living in cave like structures for a long time (think Goreme for example). Difference being these were wartime structures!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

