Travel

My Top 5 sights in Cambodia

DSC01370 (800x533)
Angkor Wat

1. There is a reason why Angkor Wat is the most famous sight in Cambodia, and one of the most famous temples in the world. It is a beautiful, iconic temple and it’s simply unmissable.

DSC01414 (800x533)
The Bayon at Angkor Thom

2. The serene and smiling faces of the Bayon at Angkor Thom are another highlight for me. I’ve never seen anything else like them. I love how this is a completely different style of architecture compared with Angkor Wat.

DSC01429 (533x800)
Ta Prohm

3. It’s hard to pick a favourite of the temples in Cambodia because they are all so different from each other, and special in their own way. However, I think Ta Prohm was my personal favourite. The way the jungle has swamped the ruins is one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen. You can see more pictures of the temples at Angkor here.

Phnom Penh (2) (800x600)
Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum, Phnom Penh

4. I think it’s so important not to turn away from the darker side of a country’s past, which is why I have included the Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum in this list, and the Killing Fields below. It’s a pretty tough place to visit with a lot of disturbing information and images to take in, but it’s an unavoidable part of Cambodia’s history.

5. You can also learn about the Cambodian Genocide at Choeung Ek, where the Killing Fields were located. Again, it’s a tough place to visit, but I think it’s very important to remember what happened here. You can read more about Tuol Sleng and Choeung Ek here.

Have you been to Cambodia? What would you include in your list of favourite sights?

One thought on “My Top 5 sights in Cambodia

Leave a Reply

