Travel

My Top 3 temples in Chiang Mai

There are hundreds of temples dotted around Chiang Mai, which is known as ‘the Rose of the North’. I didn’t get anywhere near to exploring all of them, but I spent one very enjoyable day walking to as many as I could. I hope you enjoy these pictures from my three favourites.

chiang-mai-21-800x600
Wat Chedi Luang

1. I love Wat Chedi Luang because it is so old – construction began in the 14th century. I always think you can feel something special when you are near very, very old buildings like this. I also love how it is crumbling. It’s so beautiful. The Emerald Buddha at the Grand Palace in Bangkok was originally housed here.

chiang-mai-22-600x800
Wat Chedi Luang
chiang-mai-29-600x800
Wat Chedi Luang
chiang-mai-35-600x800
Wat Chedi Luang
chiang-mai-40-800x600
Wat Chedi Luang
chiang-mai-46-800x600
Wat Chiang Man

2. Wat Chiang Man was a favourite of mine because of its beautiful gardens and the variety of different buildings. I particularly like the one pictured below with the elephant statues.

chiang-mai-48-600x800
Wat Chiang Man
chiang-mai-47-600x800
Wat Chiang Man
chiang-mai-16-600x800
Wat Pan Tao

3. Wat Pan Tao stood out to me because of its teak structure and multitude of bright orange flags. It looks very different to all the other temples in Chiang Mai and was a very peaceful place to visit.

chiang-mai-15-600x800
Wat Pan Tao
chiang-mai-18-600x800
Wat Pan Tao
chiang-mai-20-600x800
Wat Pan Tao

I hope you enjoyed my favourite temples in Chiang Mai. I’d love to know what are yours?

One thought on “My Top 3 temples in Chiang Mai

Leave a Reply

