Travel

My Top 5 sights in India (excluding the Taj Mahal)

First of all, let be clear that I am not saying I dislike the Taj Mahal. It is an incredible, must-see monument and quite rightly the most famous building in India. However, I have already featured it in a previous post and, because it is so well-known, I thought it would be good to highlight some other sights you might not have heard of. So here are my favourite five sights from my time in India.

jaipur-64-800x554
Amer Fort, Amer (also known as Amber Fort or Amber Palace)

1. I had never heard of Amer Fort before I traveled to India so I had no idea what to expect, but it quickly became my favourite sight in the country. Located high up on a hill overlooking Maota Lake, this monument is so impressive it takes your breath away when you first get a glimpse. Take a look at more pictures of Amer Fort and the surrounding area here.

varanasi-16-800x533
The ghats of Varanasi

2. Varanasi is an unmissable place if you’re planning on visiting India. Taking a boat ride along the Ganges at sunrise or sunset, or both, is a very powerful experience. It’s a fascinating place, but also very intense. I’ve written more about Varanasi and included many more pictures here.

alipura-41-800x533
The Khajuraho Group of Monuments

3. You are pretty spoilt for choice when it comes to beautiful temples in India, but my favourites are the temples that make up the Khajuraho Group of Monuments. The intricacy of the designs is just mind blowing. Check out some more pictures of the ornate decoration here.

tordi-43-800x533
Chand Baori stepwell, Abhaneri

4. The Chand Baori stepwell is a mesmerising sight and a work of art in my opinion. You might recognise it from films such as The Dark Knight Rises and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. It’s just so beautiful. Find out more about the stepwell here.

orcha-7-800x590
The Orchha Fort complex

5. The Orchha fort complex is made up of a large number of ancient monuments including the fort and several palaces. There are also numerous cenotaphs, chhatris, temples and tombs dotted around the town and along the Betwa River. More of my pictures can be seen here.

What do you think of my top 5? What are your favourite sights in India? Please like, share and leave a comment – I love hearing from you!

 

Leave a Reply

