Travel

Gallery: Kalpetta/Mudumalai/Mysore, India

After leaving Kochi I enjoyed a whirlwind tour through several places in the south before travelling over to the east coast. First was Kalpetta, where I enjoyed hiking through beautiful hills and saw the incredible Stone Age carvings of the Edakkal Caves. Next I spent one night at the Mudumalai Wildlife Sanctuary, where I saw elephants in the wild – a wonderful experience (and it happened to be my birthday!). I also visited Mysore and the city’s spectacular palace.

kalpetta-7-800x600
The view from the bus on a windy mountain drive up to Kalpetta
kalpetta-15-533x800
The Edakkal Caves near Kalpetta
kalpetta-17-800x533
These caves are famous for their rare Stone Age carvings
kalpetta-18-533x800
The carvings are believed to date back to at least 6,000 BC
kalpetta-20-800x533
The view from the entrance to the caves
kalpetta-29-533x800
The streets of Kalpetta
mudumalai-13-576x768
My accommodation in Mudumalai National Park
mudumalai-7-800x533
I spy an elephant!
mudumalai-8-800x533
Another elephant in the wild

mudumalai-5-547x800

mysore-3-800x533
Mysore Palace, Mysore
mysore-4-800x533
Mysore Palace, Mysore
mysore-6-800x560
Chamundeshwari Temple on top of the Chamundi Hills, just outside Mysore
mysore-5-533x800
Chamundeshwari Temple
mysore-11-800x533
Mysore Palace all lit up at night
2 thoughts on “Gallery: Kalpetta/Mudumalai/Mysore, India

  1. Its amazing how much of India you have already covered through your posts. I think you have seen way more places than most Indians too. I am glad you love my country and perhaps seeing her the best possible way by giving her time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

