Travel

Gallery: Abhaneri & Tordi, India

The famous sights of the Golden Triangle are what many people hope to see on a trip to India, but I was just as happy to wander through smaller villages. On my journey between Jaipur and Agra, I visited two such places; Abhaneri (famous for it’s stunning stepwell) and Tordi. Abhaneri was a quick stop to visit the Chand Baori stepwell, which truly is a work of art. I spent one night in Tordi, where I met some lovely locals and saw a much different side to life in India than that of the busy cities. I also enjoyed a beautiful sunset over the sand dunes.

 

tordi-38-533x800
Chand Baori stepwell, Abhaneri
tordi-41-533x800
This incredible well has been featured in many films.
tordi-37-533x800
It was designed to conserve as much water as possible.
tordi-43-800x533
The air is cooler at the bottom, so it became a place for the local community to gather during very hot weather.
tordi-36-800x533
Sadly, we couldn’t climb down the steps; they had been closed off due to someone falling and being injured – that must have been painful!
tordi-44-800x533
Artefacts at Chand Baori.
tordi-45-574x800
Artefacts at Chand Baori.
tordi-46-533x800
A cart making sugar cane juice in Abhaneri. (I had just discovered a feature on my camera that picked out one colour on a black and white photo. I’m a little behind the times with technology and I was so excited by this!)
tordi-17-800x533
Tordi
tordi-11-533x800
Tordi
tordi-14-800x533
Tordi
tordi-18-800x533
Taking a dip!

tordi-13-800x533

tordi-8-640x800
My guide told me that the date of an upcoming wedding is written on the side of the house so the whole village can turn up on the day!

tordi-19-533x800

4 thoughts on “Gallery: Abhaneri & Tordi, India

Leave a Reply

